Colne Smack & Barge Match Race, Brightlingsea, 09/02/2006

All the photos were taken during the Colne Smack & Barge Match Race in Brightlingsea on September 2, 2006. The start and finish of the boats can be easily watched from land what for sure unfortunately resulted in a series of very similar shots. Anyway, I hope you enjoy these as much as I do.
Bawley Good Intent LO136 The East coast of England is the home of the Essex Smacks, former fishing boats to catch oysters. These cutter or ketch rigged boats can be characterized by their flat hull with a keel, the straight steep bow, an overhanging stern, low kerbs and low draught, a long bowsprit and a tiller. Todays owners of these boats appreciate the excellent sailing characteristics of the smacks and they sail them in a series of match races over the year.
My recommendation: the Website by Roger Walker with detailled information and many photos of smacks.
Smack Hannah Blanche CK 9 Essex Skillinger Smack Pioneer CK18 Smack Gracie CK46
Smack Our Boys CK92 Smack Iris Mary CK105 Smack Ellen CK222
Smack Mary CK252 Smack Primrose CK273 Smack Alberta CK318
Smack Sunbeam CK328 Smack Mayfly CK363 Smack Emeline F14
Bawley Saxonia LO32 Bawley Bona LO178 Smack William MN15
Smack Fly MN17 Smack Lizzie Annie MN23 Smack Mary Amelia MN59
Smack Marigold MN119
From the mouth of the English river Thames the so-called Thames Barges come, which were used as working boats to load and unload bigger ships and transport cargoes on the rivers and along the shore.
Thames Sailing Barge Wyvenhoe The big and flat-bottomed hull made of steel with sideboards, flat sides, slopping bow and stern and a relative large sailing area are characteristic. Swimmie, Stumpie or Sprittie how they are called are distinguished most by their rigging, with or without a bowsprit or with or without a topmast. Even since 1863 the Thames Barges were sailed in match races.
Thames Sailing Barge Betula Thames Sailing Barge Edme Thames Sailing Barge Gladys
Thames Sailing Barge Lady Daphne Thames Sailing Barge Marjorie Thames Sailing Barge Repertor
The Sailing Barge Association, is the holding organization of the Thames Barges. A lot of informationen about Thames Barges can be found in the encyclopedia by David Renouf with specification, photos and addresses of the still active sailing boats. Another recommendation is the website of the Thames Sailing Barge Trust, where a list of still active barges can be found.
Crew Thank you very much to Andrew, Martin and Frank, the crew on board of "Mirelle". It belonged to the most thrilling events during this weekend to meet ship friends from England, Australia, Belgium, Canada and Germany. The competence of the crew in sailing and the excellent sailing characteristics of "Mirelle" influenced by the tides and strong winds made this trip to a great experience.


Set bookmark in: Set bookmark in Mister Wong Set bookmark in del.icio.us Set bookmark in Furl Set bookmark in FaceBook Set bookmark in Google Bookmarks Set bookmark in Yahoo Bookmarks

Last update:   RSS Feed  RSS Feed  home

Colne Smack & Barge Match Race, Brightlingsea, 02.09.2006

Alle Aufnahmen entstanden während des Colne Smack & Barge Match Race in Brightlingsea am 2. September 2006. Der Start und Zieleinlauf der Boote lässt sich hier hervorragend auch von Land aus beobachten, was allerdings zu sehr ähnlichen Aufnahmen führte.
Bawley Good Intent LO136 Die Ostküste Englands ist die Heimat der Essex Smacks, ehemalige Fischereiboote für den Fang von Austern. Charakteristisch für die kutter- oder ketschgetakelten Boote ist ein flach gebauter Rumpf mit Kiel, der gerade Vordersteven, ein überhängendes Heck, eine geringe Freibordhöhe, der geringe Tiefgang, ein langes Bugspriet und die Steuerung über eine Pinne. Heutige Eigner wissen insbesondere die hervorragenden Segeleigenschaften der Smacks zu schätzen und liefern sich jedes Jahre mehrere spannende Match Races.
Meine Empfehlung: Website von Roger Walker mit Detailinformationen und vielen Fotos von Smacks.
Smack Hannah Blanche CK9 Essex Skillinger Smack Pioneer CK18 Smack Gracie CK46
Smack Our Boys CK92 Smack Iris Mary CK105 Smack Ellen CK222
Smack Mary CK252 Smack Primrose CK273 Smack Alberta CK318
Smack Sunbeam CK328 Smack Mayfly CK363 Smack Emeline F14
Bawley Saxonia LO32 Bawley Bona LO178 Smack William MN15
Smack Fly MN17 Smack Lizzie Annie MN23 Smack Mary Amelia MN59
Smack Marigold MN119
Aus dem Mündungsgebiet des engl. Flusses Thames (dt. Themse) stammt die Thames Barge, welche als Arbeitsboot zum Ent- und Beladen größerer Schiffe und zum Transport von Lasten auf Flüssen und entlang der Küsten eingesetzt wurde.
Thames Sailing Barge Wyvenhoe Typisch ist der große meist stählerne Rumpf ohne Kiel mit Seitenschwertern, ein runder Bug, eine relativ große Segelfläche. Swimmie, Stumpie oder Sprittie unterscheiden sich vor allem in der Takelung, mit oder ohne Bugspriet, mit oder ohne Topstenge. Schon seit 1863 segelt man mit Thames Barges Match Races.
Thames Sailing Barge Betula Thames Sailing Barge Edme Thames Sailing Barge Gladys
Thames Sailing Barge Lady Daphne Thames Sailing Barge Marjorie Thames Sailing Barge Repertor
Eine eigene Organisation, die Sailing Barge Association, bildet den Dachverband der Thames Barges. Viele Informationen über Thames Barges findet man im Lexikon von David Renouf mit Daten, Fotos und Adressen noch aktiver Boote. Empfehlenswert ist auch die Website des Thames Sailing Barge Trust, wo eine Liste noch seefähiger Barges geführt wird.
Crew Großer Dank an Andrew, Martin und Frank, die Crew an Bord der "Mirelle". Zu den spannendsten Ereignissen auf diesem Törn gehörte die Begegnung mit Schiffsfreunden aus England, Australien, Belgien, Kanada und Deutschland. Die Seemannschaft der Crew und die hervorragende Segeleigenschaften der "Mirelle" unter dem Einfluss der Gezeiten und Wind bis zur Stärke 7 machten diese Fahrt zu einem großen Erlebnis.


Setze Lesezeichen in: Lesezeichen in Mister Wong setzen Lesezeichen in del.icio.us setzen Lesezeichen in Furl setzen Lesezeichen in FaceBook setzen Lesezeichen in Google Bookmarks setzen Lesezeichen in Yahoo Bookmarks setzen

Letzte Aktualisierung:   RSS Feed  RSS Feed  home