24th Rum - Regatta Flensburg 2003

Starting signal to the Rum - Regatta 2003 Platessa
As every year on the weekend after the Father's Day the Rum-Regatta took place in Flensburg, already the 24th time. This time we celebrated this event in Caribbean style: the port under palms, a Caribbean steel band, the crews dressed up as plantation owners, pirates, sailors or rum dealers, and havn't some of the captains brought their slaves ? Each detail reminded the origin of the run of European ships to the West Indies in the 18th and 19th century. The ships sailed to Africa, there slaves, gold or ivory was bought, brought to the West Indian Islands as medium of exchange for cane sugar, which was brought home to be refined to rum. Flensburg's history of shipping and navigation isn't conceivable withouth this run to the West Indians and the Virgin Islands St. Croix, St. Thomas and St. Jan.
Kleiner Kerl
On the water we had the same impressions as in the last years. The "Kaiserwetter" (blue sky, much sun) caused the best atmosphere among the crews. At the beginning a calm and the slow starting thermic led to a widespread field of more than 100 ships again. And on the headwind course some of the sailors were grabbed by the regatta fever.
Gaff rigged Maya, Landrath Küster and Anne - Marie Traditional sailing boat Freja and Bodil
The Rum - Regatta is presented in a special book now. Primarily photos, a lot of stories and anecdotes, of course the "rules", customs and annual event highlights, short all the details making the Rum - Regatta as well-known and popular as it is were collected by Rainer Prüß. More informationen...


Again thank you to the crew of the "Weissenhaus", you all did a great job.
Weissenhaus Based in Königsburg/Schlei Mr. Olaf Kienke has managed his mobile service company for land and watercraft for some time. From small repairings to overhaul of the engine, if you need help just phone him!
F.-Voss-Ufer 10, 24159 Kiel, Tel.: 0171 - 70 42 94 1


By the way, do you know these sailing ships?

Set bookmark in: Set bookmark in Mister Wong Set bookmark in del.icio.us Set bookmark in Furl Set bookmark in FaceBook Set bookmark in Google Bookmarks Set bookmark in Yahoo Bookmarks

Last update:   RSS Feed  RSS Feed  home

24. Rum-Regatta Flensburg 30.05. - 01.06. 2003

Startschuss zur Rumregatta 2003 Platessa
Traditionell am Wochenende nach dem Herrentag fand in Flensburg auch in diesem Jahr die Rum - Regatta statt, nun schon zum 24. Mal. Und diesmal wurde karibisch Rum - gefeiert. Die Hafenspitze unter Palmen, eine Caribbean Steelband, die Gaffler - Crews kostümiert als Plantagenbesitzer, Seeräuber, Matrosen und Rumhändler, und hatten nicht sogar einige Kapitäne ihre Sklaven mitgebracht? Alles erinnerte an den Ursprung der Westindienfahrt europäischer Schiffe im 18. und 19. Jahrhundert. Man segelte nach Afrika, kaufte Sklaven, Gold und Elfenbein, tauschte diese "Waren" in Westindien gegen Rohrzucker, den man nach Hause segelte, um ihn dort in Raffinerien zu Rum zu verarbeiten. Die Flensburger Schifffahrtsgeschichte ist ohne die Westindienfahrt und die Jungferninseln St. Croix, St. Thomas und St. Jan nicht vorstellbar.
Kleiner Kerl
Auf dem Wasser glich das Bild in etwa den Vorjahren. "Kaiserwetter" sorgte für beste Stimmung unter den segelbegeisterten Crews. Zu Beginn Flaute, erst langsam einsetzende Thermik und einige der "Privatböen" zogen das Regattafeld von wieder über 100 Schiffen auseinander. Und auf der Kreuz nach der Wende an der Tonne ließen sich auch wieder einige der Crews vom "Regatta - Fieber" packen, suchten sich zum Versegeln ihre "persönlichen Konkurrenten".
Gaffelsegler Maya, Landrath Küster und Anne - Marie Traditionssegler Freja und Bodil
Die Rum - Regatta gibt es nun übrigens auch in Buchform. Vor allem Fotos, jede Menge Geschichten und Anekdoten, natürlich die "Regeln", Bräuche und jährliche Veranstaltungshöhepunkte, kurz alles was die Rum - Regatta so beliebt macht, wurden von Rainer Prüß zusammengetragen. Mehr Informationen...


Nocheinmal vielen Dank an die Crew der "Weissenhaus", ihr ward wiedereinmal eine große Unterstützung.
Weissenhaus Ausgehend von Königsburg/Schlei betreibt Olaf Kienke schon eine Zeit lang seinen mobilen Land- und Wasserfahrzeugservice. Von Kleinreparaturen bis zur Maschinenüberholung, wenn Sie mal Hilfe benötigen sollten: einfach anrufen!
F.-Voss-Ufer 10, 24159 Kiel, Tel.: 0171 - 70 42 94 1


Ach ja, kennen Sie vielleicht diese Segelschiffe?

Setze Lesezeichen in: Lesezeichen in Mister Wong setzen Lesezeichen in del.icio.us setzen Lesezeichen in Furl setzen Lesezeichen in FaceBook setzen Lesezeichen in Google Bookmarks setzen Lesezeichen in Yahoo Bookmarks setzen

Letzte Aktualisierung:   RSS Feed  RSS Feed  home